CUBS WIN! CUBS WIN! Print E-mail
Written by John Hamre   

RIC Cubs Take Home Championship at 10th Annual Major League Wheelchair Softball Tournament


Written by Peter Quartuccio


FLUSHING, NYOn Saturday, September 17 at Citi Field in Flushing, New York, the RIC Cubs did something their Major League counterparts haven’t done in 103 years: win a championship.  The Cubs in fact finished the 10th Annual Major League Wheelchair Softball Tournament undefeated, outclassing their competition on their way to the title.  Fueled in large part by exceptional fielding and aggressive yet prudent baserunning, the Cubs finished off their 2011 campaign with a 13-3 thrashing of the New York Mets in the Championship game.  They were in truth nothing less than a juggernaut, with four members being named to the All-Tournament team—catcher Larry Labiak, second baseman Hector Bruno, third baseman Curtis Moore, and outfielder Chris Lease— and their pitcher Alex Parra winning the Most Valuable Player Award.


            Their loss to the Cubs aside, the Mets played well during the two-day event, as they received typically strong performances from Mets’ veterans Eddie Lopez, Eddie Jorge, Joe Mendez, and Dave Deas, the latter two of whom were All-Tournament Team selections at shortstop and first base, respectively.  The Rollin’ Red Sox, who finished in third place, also had their moments, including a one-sided victory over the New York Yankees in their last game.  Pitcher Gary Clarke was an All-Tournament Team selection, as he proved himself to once again be among the best players on any diamond, anywhere.  The New York Yankees and Magee Phillies both had a rougher go of it, but neither showed any signs of dejection or evinced an ounce of quit.

            Thanks to all the volunteers, and a special thanks to Carter Farmer, photographer for the Wheelchair Sports Federation who received the Al Youakim Award, a distinction she richly deserved, in recognition of her tireless coverage and stalwart dedication to this and all adapted sports for the past three years.

            For more information about this and other adapted sports and events, please visit

Last Updated on Monday, 26 September 2011 04:11