11th Annual Jana Hunsaker Memorial Wheelchair Tennis Tournament Print E-mail
Written by Administrator   


Opens Singles and Doubles Titles are Welch’s Again

Written by Peter Quartuccio


FLUSHING, NY—For the second consecutive year, Stephen Welch of the United States stood triumphant and alone—save, of course, for his Doubles teammate Anthony Anderson—at the 11th Annual Jana Hunsaker Memorial Tennis Tournament at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center on June 12, 2011.  The four day event saw the second seeded Welch face tremendous competition to retain his crown, including the blistering serve of Columbian Eliecer Oquendo in the Semifinals and the excellent forehand of England’s Alexander Jewitt in the Championship match.  In the end, despite an inconsistent serve and top competition, Welch’s remarkable court coverage and ability to respond when he needed a big point enabled him to best them all, securing the Men’s Open Division Singles title. 

            He found similar challenges, and success, in pursuit of his second straight Open Division Doubles Championship as well.  He and the aforementioned Anderson took on the team of Jewitt and his partner John Becker in the final, with the latter team enjoying an early advantage.  Leading 3 games to 1 in the opening set, Jewitt and Becker looked like they might be able to pull off the upset, when Welch and Anderson responded by winning 8 of the next 9 games, including a span where they rattled off 7 in a row.  Jewitt and Becker looked dazed in the second set following the tremendous comeback, and were beaten in straight sets, 6-3, 6-3.


            Other Divisions saw some tremendous competition as well.  Hector Maldonado-Gonzalez knocked off top seed Scott Bonk, second seed William Eno (who played well despite suffering a torn rotator cuff in last year’s tournament), and four seed William Lehr en route to his A Division Singles Title.  A compelling story developed in the Men’s B Division Singles Quarterfinals, as the only woman competitor in the B Division Jocelyn Dettloff gave first seeded David Gant all that he could handle in the first set of their match.  In the end, Gant won the first set via tiebreak, and took the second and final set as well, but Dettloff’s opening set performance wowed those in attendance. American Ralffy Diaz took home the B Division Singles Championship, who like Maldonado-Gonzalez, beat the 1, 2, and 4 seeds on his way to the title.  In the C Division Singles, American Ricardo Corral had to conquer the top 2 seeds to take the title, and did so in straight sets, and Michael Sullivan of the U.S. made short work of his opponents in the D Division, winning the title in straight sets as well.

            The team of Scott Bonk and William Eno won the A Division Doubles title, besting the upstart pairing of Miguel Lozada and Hector Maldonado-Gonzalez in straight sets.  Ralffy Diaz and Jerry Russell took care of the 1 and 2 seeds in their run to the B Division Doubles Championship, and top seeded Chris Herman and Steven Riley had the distinction of being one of the very few 1 seeds to win their Division’s Championship, earning the C Doubles crown. In the D Division Doubles, the team of Nathan Melnyk and Michael Sullivan won the title in straight sets.

            For more information about this and other adapted sports and events, please visit www.WheelchairSportsFederation.org. 

Last Updated on Tuesday, 21 June 2011 02:15